squarebearbook

The book hub for Where Is My Little Square Bear?

“Quality” Does Take Time

on November 28, 2012

So it’s not that I don’t completely love the first Square Bear book…(henceforth referred to as SB1). But I wanted to get that book done as quick as possible. One; for the InteractBooks contest that was coming up, and two; I wanted to see just how quickly I could actually finish it! (It took a week…for the record). Like a child that takes 37 hours of labor to birth as opposed to the one that pops out in just under 2 hours, one is not more loved than the other right? Now the one may be more memorable than the other . . . (and I will let the good moms of America decide which one that would be 😉 ). . . but they are loved deeply and unconditionally just the same!

Now in the world of my art, I’m learning some embarrassing facts. That if I spend a LOT more time on a picture, the “quality” is higher. I say that in quotes because quality in art is a bit subjective. SB 1 has a “quality” that I wanted: simplicity. I wanted it to look like a painting with some pastel-ish feel. I feel we got that. Then I saw the art of Will Terry (http://willterry.com) and had the flash of “THAT’S more what I want to do!” So after some Terry-tutorials, and a lot of admitting I try to go to fast…I embarked on Square Bear 2. The quality will be….well…different!

So check out Will Terry… check out Square Bear 1 . . . and DEFINITELY be ready to check out “Square Bear 2 —-> Lost At the Zoo”


Leave a comment